The club was first established in January 1964 and is still going strong with over 40 members and in 2014 we celebrated our 50th anniversary. We are located in the basement of Heavitree United Reformed Church in Exeter we meet every Friday evening from 7:30pm, email us or drop into The Model Shop on St Davids Hill Exeter for information about joining.

The self-contained suburb of Heavitree has many shops, public houses, takeaways and a garage and is readily served by local bus services A, D, R, & S along with rural services 4, 9 & 58 passing the venue.

The club holds regular business meetings on the first Friday of every month and a yearly AGM in April where club officers are elected, reports are given and membership subscription fees are set.

The Club has a large library of books, magazines and Video/DVD’s that covers all aspects of the real railways and model railways.

The club also has four layouts


Under Construction


  • Gauge OO
  • Control DC & DCC
  • Size 35ft x 10ft
  • Fixed Clubroom Layout
  • Tail chase design with 4 separately controlled running lines over 2 levels

Currently under construction with the first stages of wiring being carried out.




  • Gauge N
  • Control DCC only
  • Size 24ft x 4ft
  • Portable Exhibition Layout
  • Tail chase design based on the original Southern Region Okehampton station that survives today and is part of the Dartmoor Railway.

Fully operational has recently undergone a full electrical overhaul and scenic improvements.


Isca Road


  • Gauge OO
  • Control DC & DCC
  • Size 16ft x 6ft
  • Portable Exhibition Layout
  • End to end design with 2 stations, engine sheds, turntable & 3rd rail

Newly built as our new exhibition layout and fully operational with scenery in its final stages.


Under Overhaul


  • Gauge N
  • Control DC only
  • Size 4ft x 3ft
  • Tail chase design

Scenic Overhaul


Current Club Officers


  • President: A. Burnham
  • Vice Presidents: C. Lamacraft; M. Gicquel; D. Harding & P. Doran
  • Chairman: D. Roberts
  • Vice Chairman: S. Gill
  • Secretary: K. Staddon
  • Treasurer: G. Crockett
  • Exhibition Manager D. Harding
  • Librarians: A. Cornish, D. Smith & D. Payne-Hilton


Club’s History


First established in January 1964 in Victoria Road, Exmouth then moved to Exeter in April 1964 where its has operated continuously ever; since albeit at various locations within the city of Exeter. Membership is by no means exclusive to city residents.


First Officers (1964)


  • Chairman: B. K. Brown
  • Treasurer: W. C. Clements
  • Secretary: R. G. Herbert